6 Religious Beliefs that Cause Tremendous Harm

I’m pleased to bring this excellent blogger to the acquaintance of my readers. For those who have been hurt by abusive religion, this is a breath of fresh air. Ditch the God of Perfection and come see a Jesus who says “I will give you rest.”

Jesus Without Baggage

In my opinion, six mistaken beliefs among Christians cause incalculable pain, suffering, and lasting damage. I focus on these baggage issues on this blog, as summarized on my About page:

  1. The belief that the Father is an angry, capricious, vindictive God
  2. The concept of eternal punishment and torture in hell
  3. An insistence that the Bible is somehow inerrant in every word
  4. An over-emphasis on rules and doctrinal requirements
  5. Commitment to a literal approach to the creation stories in Genesis
  6. Disapproval and rejection of gay people

My good friend Christian Evolution created a graphic, based on my list, that captures these major issues very well. I feel so honored that he would do that.

Six religious baggage issues

Some Beliefs among Believers are more Harmful than Others

I know that followers of Jesus disagree on a host of issues, but I don’t think all issues are equally important. I talk about these six beliefs…

View original post 724 more words

One thought on “6 Religious Beliefs that Cause Tremendous Harm

Leave a Reply

