Tired of Working for Jesus

working

I’m just so tired! Church four times a week, Bible study, witnessing, kids choir, bus ministry. And even with all that time spent for Jesus, I still fail.

Oh, I shouldn’t have had that lustful thought… I shouldn’t have snickered when that other girl fell… I shouldn’t have gossiped about Mrs. Smith… I should read my Bible more… I spent too much time on the computer and not enough praying… I should keep my house cleaner for my husband… I should try to quit ignoring my wife… I should attend all six services every week at church… I should get a second job so I can give more… I just need to work harder… do more… try harder… for Jesus!

Living under law can have you running yourself into the ground in the name of God. Jesus said, “My yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” If you’re running constantly, working ever harder in the name of faith, whose burden are you carrying? It doesn’t belong to Jesus. Jesus said “Come unto me, all ye who are weary and heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” He wasn’t talking about physical burdens, but rather the spiritual burdens we carry as we try to carry the load that only Jesus can carry for us.

We can’t earn our salvation, no matter how hard we try. But the good news is, we don’t have to earn it. It’s a free gift, courtesy of God’s amazing grace. Just let go and let God. He’s got it all under control.

Grace, baby!

2 thoughts on “Tired of Working for Jesus

  1. Pingback: Man says ‘You Can Do It’ – God says ‘I Did It For You’ « Darrell Creswell

Leave a Reply

